# BY-LAWS TO THE CONSTITUTION of Texas Gulf Coast Council of Diving Clubs

## ATTACHMENT 4A - Member-of-the-Year Award

(New attachment added at Special Business Meeting held January 22, 2014, modified effective November 12, 2015 to specify 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President as the recipient of the letter of recommendation. Attachment number made consistent with other updated attachments on December 31, 2017, no approval changes required.)

**HISTORIC INFORMATION** – The Texas Gulf Coast Council of Diving Clubs' Member-of-the-Year award has been given to an individual member of TGCC or a member of its member clubs for a long time. This attachment outlines that award, the thought processes and procedures involved.

### **Procedures and general information:**

- The recommendation of an individual for the TGCC Member-of-the-Year award must be done in writing to the TGCC 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President prior to the November TGCC General Meeting.
- Voting on the TGCC Member-of-the-Year award is done by the Council at its November General Meeting.
- The person recommended must not have won the award the previous year.
- The award is for significant contributions by an individual for the dive community that year, or for contributions over time.
- The person recommended must be a member of the TGCC, or a member of a member club of the TGCC.
- Recommendations for this award can be from a member of the Texas Gulf Coast Council of Diving Clubs, any individual member of TGCC, or a member of a member club.
- The key factor in this award is "Contributions to the dive community", not an individual club. For that reason it is believed that the members of this Council (Our officers and Club Representatives) are in the best position to identify those individuals who have contributed beyond an individual club's scope of activities. Accordingly, those members are expected to review their thoughts about other TGCC members as well as their respective club members to identify any valid contributors that TGCC should recognize.
- Award is presented at the January, TGCC Awards Banquet (Luncheon). Award is for the previous year.

Approved and ratified on November 12, 2015 by:

#### **TGCC 2015 Officers:**

#### **TGCC 2015 Full Member Representatives:**

Signed by - Frank Burek President

Signed by - Pee Wee Dwire Bay Area Divers

Signed by - Randy Widaman First Vice President

Signed by - Todd Hasken Second Vice President

Signed by - Mark Leiserowitz City of Houston Underwater Mariners

Signed by - JaVan Pruett Secretary

Signed by -Alicia Grimes
Houston Underwater Photographic Society

Signed by - Mark Leiserowitz Treasurer Signed by - Tom Burns Lunarfins